“Gordon” (1992)

The Barenaked Ladies’ first official album, Gordon, was released on July 28, 1992, in Canada. Prior to the release of Gordon the Barenaked Ladies had other variety recordings.

The Gordon album was in position No. 1 on the Canadian Album Chart in 1992. In the Canadian Singles Chart during 1992 “Enid” was position 2, “If I Had $1,000,000” was 13, “Grade 9” was 53 and “Be My Yoko Ono” was in position 77. In 1993 “Brian Wilson” was No. 18 and “What a Good Boy” was 34.

Gordon sold over 80,000 copies during its first 24 hours of release in Canada alone which kept it on top of the Canadian charts for eight weeks in a row. When it sold over one million copies it achieved diamond status in Canada. In America, it wasn’t until the Rock Spectacle and “One Week” were released that there was a major spike in sales in places other than major cities. Gordon was certified Gold by the Recording Industry Association of America in August 1998.

Track Listing:

  1. Hello City (Steven Page)
  2. Enid (Steven Page)
  3. Grade 9 (Steven Page, Ed Robertson)
  4. Brian Wilson (Steven Page)
  5. Be My Yoko Ono (Steven Page, Ed Robertson)
  6. Wrap Your Arms Around Me (Ed Roberstson)
  7. What a Good Boy (Steven Page)
  8. The King of Bedside Manor (Steven Page Ed Robertson)
  9. Box Set (Steven Page)
  10. I Love You (Seven Page, Jim Creeggan, Andy Creeggan)
  11. Blame it on Me (Steven Page, Ed Robertson)
  12. New Kid (On the Block) (Steven Page)
  13. The Flag (Steven Page)
  14. If I Had a Million Dollars (Steven Page, Ed Robertson)
  15. Crazy (Ed Roberston)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What’s your favorite song from the Gordon album?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. raichlb
    Mar 04, 2011 @ 16:07:05

    The Barenaked Ladies are such a classic! My favorite from “Gordon” is “If I Had A Million Dollars.” Have you always been a big fan of the BnL? If so, I applaud you.

    Reply

    • anne2144
      Mar 04, 2011 @ 16:13:06

      I’ve always been a fan! And that is a great song. I got to see them preform it live and one of the band members, Kevin, played a balloon accordion! It was the coolest thing.

      Reply

  2. swineama
    Mar 04, 2011 @ 16:11:17

    I never knew that Barenaked Ladies were such a huge hit in Canada. Interesting. I’ve only heard two of the songs from this album, but I really like “Brian Wilson” and “If I had a Million Dollars.” This may be really mainstream of me, but I think my favorite BnL song still has to be “Pinch Me.”

    Reply

    • anne2144
      Mar 04, 2011 @ 16:17:52

      The Barenaked Ladies are to Canada as the Beatles were to America. Another great song you might like, if you like “Pinch Me,” is “It’s All Been Done” and “Alternative Girlfriend” from some of their later work.

      Reply

  3. Marlee
    Mar 04, 2011 @ 16:17:32

    I have never really looked into this band before, but I may check it out now! I’ll have to refer back to your blog for the best songs on the new album. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

    • anne2144
      Mar 04, 2011 @ 16:22:06

      Anytime! Some lesser known, but just as good songs to check out are “Some Fantastic,” “These Apples,” “The Flag,” and “A New Sad.” Their most popular songs are “One Week,” “Pinch Me,” “If I Had $1,000,000,” It’s All Been Done,” and “Be My Yoko Ono.”

      Hope you like them!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

BnL on Twitter

Tyler Stewart on Twitter

BnL Ladies Room on Twitter

