“Stunt” (1998)

“Stunt” is the fourth full-length studio album by Barenaked Ladies. “Stunt” sold over 4 million CD’s by the time its chart run came to an end. The album reached the No. 3 spot on American charts and their first single, “One Week“, would become the band’s breakthrough single in the U.S. market by hitting #1. The song also reached #5 in the UK, and helped revitalize their career in the band’s home country of Canada, where their fame had diminished since their first release. In addition, follow-up singles “It’s All Been Done“, “Alcohol” and “Call and Answer” were each successful.

“Stunt” is the first studio album to feature keyboardist/guitarist Kevin Hearn, who originally joined the band for the Born on a Pirate Ship tour in 1995. Shortly after the release of the album Kevin was diagnosed with leukemia. He spent the Stunt tour receiving chemotherapy and was replaced by Chris Brownand Greg Kurstin in the interim.

Some tracks were recorded but did not make the final cut; these songs include “Long Way Back Home” and “She’s On Time.” These tracks appear as hidden tracks on the limited edition version of the album. “Long Way Back Home” would ultimately be used during the closing credits for the band’s “Stunt” tour concert film “Barenaked in America.”

As with each of their earlier albums, the band recorded one song, “Alcohol”, completely naked.

Track recordings for “Stunt”

  1. One Week (Ed Robertson)
  2. It’s All Been Done (Steven Page)
  3. LIght Up My Room
  4. I’ll Be That Girl (Steven Page, Stephen Duffy)
  5. Leave
  6. Alcohol (Steven Page, Stephen Duffy)
  7. Call and Answer
  8. In the Car (Steven Page)
  9. Never is Enough
  10. Who Needs Sleep
  11. Told You So
  12. Some Fantastic
  13. When You Dream
  14. She’s On Time – “Limited Edition” Version
  15. Long Way Back Home – “Limited Edition” Version

Have you seen the “Barenaked in America” movie? If you have, did you enjoy it? Would you go watch it now, knowing it’s available on Netflix streaming?


“Gordon” (1992)

The Barenaked Ladies’ first official album, Gordon, was released on July 28, 1992, in Canada. Prior to the release of Gordon the Barenaked Ladies had other variety recordings.

The Gordon album was in position No. 1 on the Canadian Album Chart in 1992. In the Canadian Singles Chart during 1992 “Enid” was position 2, “If I Had $1,000,000” was 13, “Grade 9” was 53 and “Be My Yoko Ono” was in position 77. In 1993 “Brian Wilson” was No. 18 and “What a Good Boy” was 34.

Gordon sold over 80,000 copies during its first 24 hours of release in Canada alone which kept it on top of the Canadian charts for eight weeks in a row. When it sold over one million copies it achieved diamond status in Canada. In America, it wasn’t until the Rock Spectacle and “One Week” were released that there was a major spike in sales in places other than major cities. Gordon was certified Gold by the Recording Industry Association of America in August 1998.

Track Listing:

  1. Hello City (Steven Page)
  2. Enid (Steven Page)
  3. Grade 9 (Steven Page, Ed Robertson)
  4. Brian Wilson (Steven Page)
  5. Be My Yoko Ono (Steven Page, Ed Robertson)
  6. Wrap Your Arms Around Me (Ed Roberstson)
  7. What a Good Boy (Steven Page)
  8. The King of Bedside Manor (Steven Page Ed Robertson)
  9. Box Set (Steven Page)
  10. I Love You (Seven Page, Jim Creeggan, Andy Creeggan)
  11. Blame it on Me (Steven Page, Ed Robertson)
  12. New Kid (On the Block) (Steven Page)
  13. The Flag (Steven Page)
  14. If I Had a Million Dollars (Steven Page, Ed Robertson)
  15. Crazy (Ed Roberston)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What’s your favorite song from the Gordon album?

BnL on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Tyler Stewart on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

BnL Ladies Room on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.